How to improve your personal productivity to achieve more with less effort?

Twelve ideas and seven books that will help you structure your day and get the most from your time

Ian Higginbottom
7 min readNov 8, 2021

--

Photo by Andreas Klassen on Unsplash

A good friend asked me:

“Do you have any books or principles for improving personal productivity? Is there anything you know of, or that’s part of PEP [Personal Efficiency Program] that you could suggest for me to think about how I better structure my days to get the most out of my time?”

I spend half my work week helping middle level (‘EL’s’) and senior executives (‘SES’) in the Australian Public Service be more productive and less stressed and the other half of my week helping them be more effective leaders.

I am sharing with you, the ideas and book titles I shared with my friend.

Twelve ideas

The Personal Efficiency Program (PEP) offers the following principles to help with productivity:

  • Get organised with email, electronic documents, and paper to not waste time filing, looking for things or re-reading things multiple times. Create a folder system using the same approach you use to organise your kitchen with designated locations for things you use a lot (think cutlery draw) and a general area…

--

--

Ian Higginbottom

I help school principals and executives build the interaction skills of collaboration and leadership. I help leaders have powerful conversations.